International Conference on Artificial Reality and Telexistence (icat)

About ICAT

ICAT (International Conference on Artificial Reality and Telexistence) is the oldest international conference on Virtual Reality and Telexistence, started in 1991. ICAT is open to all who are interested in this field. ICAT has had many speakers from all over the world presenting their latest research. Since 2000, ICAT has been held in various countries in the world, including Asia, Oceania, and Europe.

Artificial Reality (AR) is the advanced reality that has been artificially synthesized, artificially enhanced, or artificially extended, which includes virtual reality, augmented reality, and mixed reality.

Telexistence, on the other hand, refers to the concept and technology that enables human beings to have a real-time sensation of being at a place other than where they actually exist and being able to interact with a remote environment, which may be real, virtual, or a combination of both.

AR and Telexistence augment human ability in perception, understanding, action, time and space. They also enable humans seemingly to be everywhere at the same time, i.e., enable humans to be virtually ubiquitous.

The history of ICAT is summarized in the following file.


  • 2022: Yokohama, Japan (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2021: Virtual (originally Sankt Augustin, Germany) (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2020: Virtual (originally Orlando, USA) (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2019: Tokyo, Japan (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2018: Limassol, Cyprus (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2017: Adelaide, Australia (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2016: Little Rock, USA (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2015: Kyoto, Japan (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2014: Bremen, Germany (as ICAT-EGVE)
  • 2013: Tokyo, Japan
  • 2012: Madrid, Spain (as Joint Virtual Reality Conference of ICAT - EGVE - EuroVR)
  • 2011: Osaka, Japan
  • 2010: Adelaide, Australia
  • 2009: Lyon, France (as Joint Virtual Reality Conference of EGVE - ICAT - EuroVR)
  • 2008: Yokohama, Japan
  • 2007: Esbjerg, Denmark
  • 2006: Hanzhou, China
  • 2005: Christchurch, New Zealand
  • 2004: Seoul, Korea
  • 2003: Tokyo, Japan
  • 2002: Tokyo, Japan
  • 2001: Tokyo, Japan
  • 2000: Taipei, Taiwan
  • 1999: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1998: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1997: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1996: Chiba, Japan
  • 1995: Chiba, Japan (as ICAT/VRST '95)
  • 1994: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1993: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1992: Tokyo, Japan
  • 1991: Tokyo, Japan

For more information, please visit archives page.